Skip to main content
HomeOfficers and Board Members

Officers and Board Members

Chair, Board of Directors - P. Preston Reynolds, MD, PhD, MACP

Professor of Medicine and Nursing

Associate Chair, Professionalism and Diversity

University of Virginia


Chair-Elect - Tom Harter, PhD

Director, Department of Bioethics and Humanities

Gundersen Health System


Past-Chair - Janet Malek, PhD

Associate Professor, Center for Medical Ethics and Health Policy, Baylor College of Medicine

Director, Houston Methodist Biomedical Ethics Program

Treasurer (I)- Julie Agris, PhD, JD, LLM, FACHE

Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Family, Population and Prevention Medicine,
Center for Medical Humanities, Compassionate Care and Bioethics, 
Program in Public Health,
Founding Director, Master of Health Administration (MHA) Program
Stony Brook Medicine
Health Sciences Center

Secretary - Trish Sexton, DHEd, MS, FNAOME

Associate Dean for Curriculum

Professor Family Medicine

Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine

At Large Board Members
Pamela Duke, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine: Associate Director, Clinical Skills and Professionalism

Drexel University College of Medicine


Ellen M. Friedman, MD, FACS, FAAP
Professor, Otolaryngology
Director, Center for Professionalism in Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine

Patrick D. Herron, DBe

Associate Professor, Department of Family & Social Medicine

Associate Professor, Department of Epidemiology & Population Health

Director, Bioethics Education

Director of Operations & Educational Programming,

Ruth L. Gottesman Clinical Skills Center
Albert Einstein College of Medicine


Darcy A. Reed, MD, MPH
Senior Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine
Associate Director, Program in Professionalism and Values
Professor of Medicine, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science
Consultant, Community Internal Medicine, Mayo Clinic-Rochester

Rebecca Volpe, PhD

Assistant Professor and Vice Chair for Education, Department of Humanities

Penn State College of Medicine

Director, Clinical Ethics Consultation Service

Milton S. Hershey Medical Center

Ex-Officio Members
Joe A. Carrese, MD, MPH, FACP (Chair, 2013-2016; Past-chair, 2016-2018)

Professor of Medicine
Core Faculty, Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics
Johns Hopkins University

David J. Doukas, MD (President, 2012-2019)

James A. Knight Chair of Humanities and Ethics in Medicine

Director, Program in Medical Ethics and Human Values

Tulane University School of Medicine

John C. Moskop, PhD (Treasurer, 2013-2018)
Professor of Internal Medicine
Wallace and Mona Wu Chair in Biomedical Ethics
Wake Forrest School of Medicine

Dennis H. Novack, MD (Secretary, 2013-2018)
Professor of Medicine
Associate Dean of Medical Education
Drexel University College of Medicine